GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I got my new (new to me) 2006 wing home today and I was loading it up with all my motorcycle junk. I was loading stuff into the left fairing pocket and attached next to the pocket was what I had assumed was a 12 volt outlet. I popped the cap and much to my surprise, it is not. I think it is the hook-up for intercom. Anyway, I like having a plug that I can charge my MP3 player and phone from, so I need to install one. Is there an easy way to hook up a 12 volt outlet and possibly run it to the left pocket? Remember, I am a newbie to the Wing and just learning, so if this has been covered a thousand times, i apologize.

Barry

·
Registered
267 Posts
There should be a plug behind the pocket that you can hook up a 12v power supply to. Hal has them on his site, just remove the pocket
(refer to manual) and hook it up.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yes: Direct Line Parts. Just be aware, however, that the 12-volt line behind the left pocket is part of the accessories wiring and can handle only only 5 amps.
Thanks Buzz. Would it be better to wire one directly to the fuse box?:shrug:

·
Registered
297 Posts
Just hooked one up

I just hooked one up. It seems there are two brands out there. One for $9. or so, and another for $36.00 I went with the $9 and it works fine. Hooks up next to the IPOD/Aux connection. You'll see another wire sitting there with a red cap possibly, hook it up to that. I think it's well worth the hassle to get one.

·
Registered
581 Posts
Just had one installed by the dealer on my 09. Plan to use it to power my GPS. It went in the left pocket in the upper right corner.

·
Registered
213 Posts
last week