GL1800Riders Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
.................What can you tell me about a 1982 HONDA CB 900 Custom? I have located one I am interested in. Now I just got done rebuilding a 1982 Gold Wing (5 year project) so I have some knowledge on working on 25 year old Hondas. This is one of those 5 speeds with a hi/low transmission. My question is more about the bike itself than rebuilding it. If you had one how was it to ride? I belong to VJMC so that will help. This is not about speed, but more to restore another Honda. Do not plan to sell it if I do restore it. (Winter project.. (PMS). Thanks

·
Registered
107 Posts
I had one for many years. It was a good bike for the most part. It was a tad faster then my wing. I had to have it tuned up once a year to keep it running as max performance. The air shocks lifted the bike to much under hard torque, but that’s a drive compared against a chain.
One problem I had was with was those spark plug coils. Never were in stock and had to wait weeks at times to find a replacement. I guess with only three model years there wasn’t much demand.

·
Registered
768 Posts
I had an 83 CB1000 which is very similar to the CB900. My problem with the bike is that it was very tempermental in starting when the engine was cold. Meaning unless I started it twice a week it would be hard to get it going. The choke also was hard to set. Other than that it ran great and had plenty of zip.

Mike
03ILB

·
Registered
192 Posts
I had a CB 900 my second street bike I believe mine was a 1981 color was two tone blue. Loved it took me to yellowstone and back. Good smooth ride put lots of Smiles on it. Not to mention all the memories of my wife and myself going places.