GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm brand new to GL1800 after purchasing my first Goldwing, a 2005 with 48,000 miles in Tampa, Florida. The seller had installed new tires on both the front and rear. The tires had less than 100 miles on them. The front is a Bridgestone BT45R 130/70-18 and the "dark side" rear is a Sunny SN3830 Snowmaster 195/55R16 filled to 36 psi). I live in Utah and flew down to Florida to pick up the cycle a month ago, then spent three weeks riding it back home 3,500 miles through sun, rain, sleet and even snow over the Rocky Mountains. The bike and tires performed perfectly.

Now that I'm home, I was giving the motorcycle a thorough inspection and was totally surprised to see the rear tire severely worn on just the left side. To me, the front tire looks even and I don't really see any wear on it. Hopefully the attached pictures are clear enough to show the wear. The rear tire looks ready to be replaced after just 3,500 miles.

Remember, I'm brand new to the Goldwing and wasn't sure what to expect. While I was riding, I noticed my head wasn't centered over the centerline of the bike. I was always several inches to the right. I experimented with shifting my weight to be over the centerline but it never felt comfortable. So the bike was probably leaning left the entire ride. I'm trying to understand the bad tire wear and the leaning. I don't know if the Goldwing has any tire angle adjustments like a car does.