GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
305 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, new guy here with a question. I have a '06 ABS and would like to install an accessory plug in the fairing pocket. I also would like to hardwire my Sirius satellite to the bike power on the left side (I would prefer a left mounted radio). Is there a harness on the market that would allow me to have both? One that would plug into the bike's harness and have two outlets - one for the radio and one for the accessory socket? I need the cigarette plug for running my little air compressor and charging my phone but don't want the radio power wiring run through the pocket door. Also, other than the mount what else would I need to put the radio on the bike? Remember, I am a rookie so please be as specific as you can. I will not leave it on the bike permanent but will move it back and forth to my truck.
Thanks in advance,
Mike
'06 White ABS

·
Registered
2,008 Posts
Mike, I just did this. I put an outlet in the compartment and hooked another outlet to the back of that outlet. I then plugged in the DC power adapter of my XM radio into that outlet wrapped it in electrical tape and zip tied it to the harness under the compartment box. Works like a charm.

·
Registered
439 Posts
I don't think the power socket in the left pocket will run a compressor . The wire is a bit small for that . This is what I have read anyway .

·
Registered
1,105 Posts
The front AUX power socket will allow a 5 amp draw only before blowing the fuse. Most mini compressors (Walmart, etc.) draw up to 11 amps. Better to hard wire a socket back to the battery, or aux fuse block if you have one, (30 amp) for the compressor. I installed a second power socket in the left trunk, wired to my fuse block, to run my compressor. Most of my flats have been in the rear tire so the location is convenient. I used a waterproof (West Marine) socket.

·
Registered
1,115 Posts