GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi group. Im new to the Goldwing, recently purchased a 2008 GL1800 with built in satnav.
Ive not had much of a chance to search the net with regards to how the systems work etc so have a few questions.

1 Where is the sat nav Map/ software stored on the bike.

2 How can i update the maps etc. (Based in UK)

Many thanks for the time to read my post.
Im havnt got a clue on what map version i currently have and dont have a clue how to find out so all advise is much appreciated.

Thankyou.

·
Registered
470 Posts
The GPS unit is in the trunk on the back wall. The software and maps are stored on a CF card that plugs into the left side of the unit.

Two ways to update the maps:
1. Buy the update from Garmin. BUT, the latest they offer for the US for a 2008 is the 2014 maps I wouldnt expect any better for the UK maps.
2. If you have a Garmin GPS with lifetime maps you can do it yourself. There's very long thread on it here:
https://gl1800riders.com/forums/118-navi/72686-fyi-how-update-your-navi-latest-everything.html

·
Registered
909 Posts
To tell what firmware and map version you have, bring up the map, hit the "Menu" button, then go to "Setup/Info" and then select "System Info". This will tell you what version of firmware you are running and what map version you are running. That's a good start.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Many thanks guys, my map is 2015 so i guess that would be the last update available for my system. ?

·
Registered
909 Posts
Sounds like the previous owner did you a favor by updating your NAV system. What was the firmware version that was on it? That’ll help if you want to update on your own later.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
143 Posts
Sounds like the previous owner did you a favor by updating your NAV system. What was the firmware version that was on it? That’ll help if you want to update on your own later.