GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
361 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry to sound like a green pea, but..................
I have been riding HD touring bikes for the last 11 years. When I took to the hills above Los Angeles on a bagger I would quite often scrape the boards in the twisties.
Today, a buddy and I were up in the mountains pushing it a little, just trying to see what the bike would do, and to my surprise I started dragging my boot toe. This happened on both left and right curves.
I have not made any modifications to the stock bike.​

So, is this normal, or do I need to adjust the preload on the suspension? Slowing down is not an option!​

I didn't budget for new boots when I bought the bike, so any suggestions would be appreciated.
bbc :22yikes:​

·
Registered
4,928 Posts
When I would ride the twisties I would raise the rear shock to about 22 and keep your toes up. A lot of time you relax your feet without realizing it and your toes hang over the peg and hit the ground, You should be able to drag pegs way before your toes hit the ground.

·
Registered
1,207 Posts
Just don't hang your toes down

·
Registered
4,751 Posts
BBC
Changing the springs will help alot. Also hang off the bike will also help.

·
Registered
4,841 Posts
It is now habit for me to raise my toes a little on the downhill side of the lean when cornering. It is pretty easy to scrape the bottom of the pegs so a low-hangng toe will scrape pretty easily.

Congratulations on the bike. You're gonna love it.

·
Registered
9,391 Posts
Easiest solution is to put balls of your feet on the pegs. When I'm feeling frisky, not only do I put the balls of my feet on the pegs, I move my feet as close to the frame as possible. That way the peg folding up is less of an issue.

The next step is, as Wimpy said, hanging off. However, I'm too old for that. :oops: