GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
315 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well,

I admit, this clutch is driving me crazy... Not that its a long drive lol
I have been riding GL1800s for 10 years, so I am not a newbie to the wing... I had a 2008 and and 2012 with over 70,000 miles on both, and never had any issues with operating the clutch in smooth and controlled way. However, I am having troubles getting smooth with this one. You DCT owners are probably just chuckling :grin2:...

The engagement point is much farther out away from the left handlebar, than my previous wings... This means the release point occurs when my fingers are much closer to straight instead of bent, and hence my control is less precise. Finding that friction zone is very difficult. The old wing had a much larger friction zone, and this one seems to be a very small part of the travel.

Anyone else experience this? And if so, what things might I try? I have already adjusted the travel knob to a lower setting (3 to 2), but the lever and release point still seem far away from the bar... I’m sure this will eventually get better for me, but I am struggling for sure. Thanks for any and all helpful advice

·
Registered
2018 Honda Gold Wing
7,551 Posts
Yes the new wings clutch feel is quite different from the old model. I didn't like it at first and it felt strange, but you will adapt and after a while, the clutch will feel natural and you will wonder how it ever felt strange. I have no complaints about the clutch feel.

·
Registered
808 Posts
Well,

I have been riding GL1800s for 10 years, so I am not a newbie to the wing... I had a 2008 and and 2012 with over 70,000 miles on both, and never had any issues with operating the clutch in smooth and controlled way. However, I am having troubles getting smooth with this one. You DCT owners are probably just chuckling :grin2:...