GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
250 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All. I'm pretty PC and MP3-literate, but a complete Newb to iPods, so I'm hoping those particularly familiar with and an Owner of iPod Nano 4th Generation player model can offer some info.

I'm considering purchase of an iPod Nano 4th Gen 8GB or 16GB player. It'll be installed on my 3rd GL1800, a soon-to-be-ordered 2009 model.

Still "on the fence" whether I'll hook the Nano up via 12V accessory socket and use the bike's AUX input, with an iJet remote, or go for the EC Adapter harness that integrates the Nano via the CD changer input.

I'll probably opt for the latter, but in either case the Nano will likely be mounted-stored-used inside the rear trunk.

Question # 1: I note the 4th Gen. Nanos have an "Accelerometer" feature whereby it will auto-shuffle through songs merely by "shaking" the unit. Can this feature be Enabled / Disabled? If not capable of being disabled, I'm wondering if "shaking" the Nano (on rough roads, etc.) will cause UNDESIRED music-track-shuffling? Any users experiencing any such problems?

Question # 2: I think I pretty much understand the purpose & function of the iTunes svc & software, that I can use for downloading or converting songs and building libraries & playlists. Most of my music collection is presently in MP3 file format and probably at pretty high level sampling compression bitrates for better audio quality. Can the 4th Gen. Nano play my MP3 songs "as is", or is it mandatory that I firstly convert all my MP3 songs to the native iPod "AAC" file format?