GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I'm new to the gold wings and have been interested in them for a while I have an opportunity to buy an 87 interstate for 2000 with only 15000 miles on it the only issue is it has sat for four years with out being started I'm just wondering if this is something I should worry bout or should I go for it

·
Registered
364 Posts
The biggest issue, in my opinion, is if it sat that long with gas in the carbs it will take a lot of expertise and money to make it run right.

·
Registered
496 Posts
It would be a good deal if you could do the work yourself if you knew what all the issues were and if you wanted that smaller motor. I've owned several GL1200, GL1500, and Gl1800 bikes plus several Valkyries. Lots of these are available cheap. Valkyries can be had in the 3Ks that run great. I'd want a nice GL1500 over a GL1200. I'm not much of a mechanic so I end up spending money getting stuff fixed, so I don't buy bikes that don't run. It is a GREAT buyers market out there for cheap bikes. Don't have to buy one that doesn't run. Just one person's opinion.

Dan

·
Registered
2,962 Posts
Unless that bike is in good running condition I think it’s over priced and you could get one for less.

But.... if you like tinkering and you like the bike I don’t think it matters.... buy it and have fun. It’s sounds like a good bike.

·
Registered
218 Posts
I would love to buy one of those vintage for $2K! Up here they'd be $8K or more.
I would buy it, take the carbs off and soak them to loosen and get the gunk cleaned out professionally.

Check bearings, front forks (change the oil), change all other fluids and probably a new battery.
Go touring and stay in nice motels with the money you saved.

·
Registered
8,302 Posts