GL1800Riders Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello fellow Dark Siders!

Well I'm not riding as much as I'd like so far this season but I have put maybe 500 miles on the Kumho 195 RF so far. Will be riding from WI to NC next month, will probably be pulling a trailer and might be traveling with a co-rider, so that will give me much more experience.

My thoughts and questions so far if anyone would care to comment?:
  • Right off I noticed a much smoother ride at 32 psi, the bike feels much more planted going straight down the road, and I'm finally able to try higher shock preload settings for better handling without getting my teeth jarred on rough roads as was the case with the E3 at the Honda recommended 41 psi.
  • I'm still learning to improve my skills with the counter steer issue. I've noticed it's not as much an issue riding my line through a corner at a higher speed and a steeper lean angle as it is at a lower speeds with less angle. I'm thinking about trying a higher pressure, like upping it 2 psi to 34 and going from there. Do you think the lower corner speed counter steer would be better or worse at higher pressure (or lower pressure)? BTW I'm running 36 in the front 709.