GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
238 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone ever had one, what is it like and do you have any tips for controlling one?? Besides having your life insurance paid up, do you have any suggestions?? Thanks, Greg

·
Registered
2,272 Posts
Had a rear let go at about 85 mph leaned over in a curve. No idea how I managed to get bike stopped. I think it is a matter of luck in cases like this. Maybe if I was a professional rider I could come up with the sequenace of how I did it, but that isn't about to happen. Just say it was a experieance that I don't want to repeat.

·
Banned
1,633 Posts
spine60 said:
Has anyone ever had one, what is it like and do you have any tips for controlling one?? Besides having your life insurance paid up, do you have any suggestions?? Thanks, Greg
If it's the front and it gets caught up in the brakes or spokes and locks, you're basically along for the ride. If the wheel keeps spinning free don't touch the brakes (front or rear) and let the bike slow on its own (geography permitting of course). Hopefully that will give enough time for the AH following too close to back himself down without putting his grill up your rear. Try to keep the bike as straight as possible, even after it slows.

If it's the rear the same general rules apply except you can use the front brake gently - no hard braking or sudden turns. If the rear wheel locks you can attempt to keep the bike in a straight line and skid to a stop (again, hoping the guy behind you isn't too close and is paying attention).