GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3,838 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've been riding motorcycles since 1966 (please don't do the math) and every fall when I put my bike away for the season I wonder if I'll still feel the same about riding in the spring, I just figure that one of these years I'll tire (pun intended) of it and become a summertime couch potato but I still enjoy it as much as I did when I was a teenager back in the 60's with my red hair blowing in the wind, unfortunately the wind has blown most of it away and what's left ceased being red a long time ago. I've seen people fall in and out of love with this sport and I just can't understand how some people lose their passion for it. I've seen many long term riders also decide to hang 'em up feeling they are too old. I've had friends that I rode with for years pass away, not as a result of riding, but because of sickness or other tragic events. In all my years of riding I've only had one friend killed in a motorcycle accident. I've had friends killed while felling trees, in car accidents and industrial accidents so life has a way of taking its toll on us one way or another.