GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guy,
I've been running darkside, under the raydar, for a couple of years now, thanks to the info I've gotten from this forum. Shortly after I put the goodyear tripple tread on the back, I had to replace the front as well. I decided to go with the Bridgestone BT45. I haven't been disappointed with that decision. I've gotten about 22,000 miles out of it, but it's starting to wear and we're taking a little trip in Sept. I should replace it before we go. I've come accross a Metzeler tire that seems to be the right size. It's the Metzeler Marathon ML2 130/70 18. Does anyone know much about this tire? Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Thanks.

·
Registered
826 Posts
double DS

I dont know about that tire, but I tried Michelin Pilot ACTIV and did not like it, Love my Stone BT 45, stick with it , you wont be sorry
Andy

·
Registered
1,189 Posts
Sounds like your BT45 was good to you. Why not stick with it?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It was just the price thing. Most of the BT45's I saw were 95 to 100 bucks.. The Metz was 56. Call me cheap, but I took notice.

·
Registered
1,189 Posts
It just me, but price doesn't enter into a tire equation for me when running two wheels. Comfort and safety trump price, at least for me.

Hope you get some positive feedback on your tire before buying.

·
Registered
397 Posts
I am currently running a bt-45 on the front of mine and am shopping for its replacement with over 70% of the tread left.
It is ok if you are only an interstate runner.

I find it to be Buzzy on the straights and it absolutley sucks on tar snakes when they are hot or wet.
You can feel the transition of the different compounds when running the twisites and sweepers.

JMHO
See you out there
Smokey

·
Registered
1,595 Posts
I don't know about the front tires, but good choice on the Triple tred.

·
Registered
1,476 Posts