GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm thinking of buying a new GL1800. Are abs brakes worth the xtra money. I have 30 yrs riding experience. Any other options I should get.

·
Registered
536 Posts
Yes! The ABS system can be a real life-saver. It's well worth the money.

Other "must have" options (IMHO): belly pan, front fender extension, driving lights or fog lights, accessory outlet, service manual.

Nice to have: heated grips, CB, CD player.

·
Registered
837 Posts
My '01 doesn't have ABS. I figured, "never had it before, don't need it now". After reading some of the experiences of our fellow board members, both with and without ABS, the next 1800 I buy will have it.

Just my 2¢ worth.

·
Registered
1,486 Posts
Jim, only you can decide. I don't have them, and am not especially fond of the "linked" braking system either, but not a lot i can do about that.
it seems i'm in the minority here, but i've been riding continously since 1962, & feel i'm qualified to decide what i need/want on a motrcycle. i've ridden motorcycles with mechanical brakes, drum brakes, cable actuated brakes, & the "late model" hydraulic discs. even had a motorcycle that i built & rode without a FRONT brake.(how dumbi is that? but it looked "cool" 8) i've never wrecked a motorcycle because i couldn't stop in time. that's just my experience, if YOU feel you need them get them. Yes i do wear a helmut, boots, gloves,& whatever else i think i need for safety & comfort when i ride.
not trying to start anything with this & wish y'all a Merry & safe Christmas.
dave,the hobo,Cassidy

·
Registered
533 Posts
Hobo,
Well put.

I have long felt the same way as you and therefore didn't get ABS on my '03. In addition, they are of little value while leaning in a turn, as they disengage. However,.....