GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
756 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A big thanks to all who have previously posted their experiences for changing the air filter :clap2: (and no thanks to the B_$tard that designed where its located :banghead: ). I had about 25,000 miles on the filter and it was dirty and starting to deteriorate.
I am by no means a mechanic, but did manage to change it out in about two hours. I never would have attempted this on my own, with out the previous input I read on this board.

·
Registered
2,305 Posts
GP Young said:
and no thanks to the B_$tard that designed where its located
Where would you have put it? It's right on top of the valve body where most air filters are located on most vehicles. IMO, that's where it should be. You do have to remove stuff to get to it, but you only have to do it every 20-30k miles. It gets easier the more you do it.

·
Registered
3,033 Posts
A good rider can actually ride between the bugs so as not to waste valuable riding time washing his bike.
A rider who has experienced "the changing of the filter" has incentive to improve his riding skills to the point of being able to avoid the dust motes that clog the infamous filter.
I suggest you go ride some more until you have mastered this ability.
Of course, you will have to remove the air filter form time to time to measure your improvement level, but don't give up, perfection takes a lot of practice. :lol: :lol: :lol:
DC

·
Registered
1,309 Posts
No flame meant, but...

1. If 20,000 miles is too often, get a K&N and go 50,000 miles between cleanings.

2. I can't see that changing the filter on an 1800 is much harder than changing one on a 1500.

·
Registered
2,581 Posts
Dream Catcher said:
A rider who has experienced "the changing of the filter" has incentive to improve his riding skills to the point of being able to avoid the dust motes that clog the infamous filter.
DC