GL1800Riders Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am no mechanic, so for those that are, please excuse this question. In a past post here, it was mentioned that changing the air filter when the schedule calls for checking the evaporative emission control system would be a good time because they would be right there to do it. In my case, this would be at the 24K mark. Is this correct?

tia.......Rich

·
Registered
2,305 Posts
Here's what the 05 Service manual has to say (pg 3-15)

EVAPORATIVE EMISSION CONTROL SYSTEM
Remove the air cleaner housing (page 5-91).
Check the evaporative emission (EVAP) canister, which is located in front of the engine, for cracks or damage.
Check the hoses between the fuel tank, EVAP canister, EVAP purge control valve solenoid and throttle body for deterioration, damage or loose connections.
Also check that the hoses are not kinked or pinched.
Refer to the Vacuum Hose Routing Diagram Label and Cable & Harness Routing (page 1-23) for hose connections and routing.

It looks like the only reason to remove the air cleaner housing is to inspect hoses. If you think your hoses have deteriorated in 24k, then you should check them. And doing it while you're in there changing the air cleaner makes sense.

·
Registered
8,038 Posts
I am glad that you posted this so I won't have to start another Air Filter thread. :lol: :lol:

I am about to do some winter maintenance and the filter is on the list at 42+K, I think that it will need at least looking at. I have used the search to look for paper or K&N, with several iterations of wording. I may as well be looking at the general index.

Question is. Is the K&N better or is it a head ache, versa paper. I know it is a pain to change. I'm not asking about that, just information on the filter itself.

·
Registered
4,487 Posts
KJ5IX said: