GL1800Riders Forums banner
1 - 20 of 48 Posts

· Registered
10,641 Posts
Okay, bearings going out. Pull it, take it a rebuild shop, reinstall.

· Registered
10,641 Posts
Trying to post video can’t seem to do it some one please refresh my memory 😲😆
I am not an expert on the video side of the forum. I end up uploading to YouTube and then post a link to it. Someone else will chime in with a better method so we can both learn... 🤔😉

Reactions: Capt. Bob

· Premium Member
2014 GL1800 Hannigan Trike
140 Posts
So, I had the pleasure of having my ADG Drive go out on my "04" Flair Red. THAT was not the sound it was making. It was more like a box of rocks when you were idling down, and running at idle. When you throttled up the sound basically went away. The set ring that goes bad (breaks into a bunch of pieces) allows the alternator to "move" just a but thus creates the sound as it now has this play in it. My opinion is that this does not sound like the ADG, which be a good thing because if it IS the ADG you have to pull the engine. I would try the rebuild first.

· Registered
2,367 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
So, I had the pleasure of having my ADG Drive go out on my "04" Flair Red. THAT was not the sound it was making. It was more like a box of rocks when you were idling down, and running at idle. When you throttled up the sound basically went away. The set ring that goes bad (breaks into a bunch of pieces) allows the alternator to "move" just a but thus creates the sound as it now has this play in it. My opinion is that this does not sound like the ADG, which be a good thing because if it IS the ADG you have to pull the engine. I would try the rebuild first.
thanks I am of the same opinion.

· Registered
3,244 Posts
Okay, bearings going out. Pull it, take it a rebuild shop, reinstall.