GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Arkansas Ridgerunner
3,877 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a dilemma that I could use some insight with.

My bike is a 2008 GL1800 that I purchased new in August, 2009. So, I have been riding it for just over 4 1/2 years. It still has over 2 years of extended warranty.

The bike has 130,000 miles and I don't see the accumulation of miles slowing down any.

When researching about the Alternator I find several posts where guys have replaced theirs due to failure. From what I can gather from all this, it is highly recommended that the Alternator be replaced at some point over 100,000 miles. But I keep thinking about that extended warranty!!??

I guess I'm trying to decide how much or how far to gamble with this issue.

I know there have been several alternator replacements ... but my question ... how many out there have more miles than I do and are still going strong with the original alternator?

Any help with making this decision will be appreciated...

Thanks

·
IronMan
17,462 Posts
Personaly wouldnt worry about if i had warr. When real close to running out mite want to rebuild/replace for peace of mind if it dont quit in meantime .

·
Registered
1,756 Posts
Depends on what trip you are going to ruin do to break down. How far off the beaten path will you be at that time? Will you have cell coverage to call for a tow?

Personally I changed mine out at about 125,000 because my riding time is limited and don't want to spoil it. My friends alternator died at 175,000 while on the road. No Honda dealer within 100 miles had one in stock. This was day 1 of a 10 day trip. But as luck would have it we found a trike shop 10 miles down the road that had one and was willing to reopen to get us back on the road. Warranty did not help there either.

So, what are you comfortable with?

·
Registered
20,954 Posts