·
Registered
3,276 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have 3 gauges.

This Accu-Gauge reads 34

This Accu-gauge reads 44

And this Accu Gauge reads 40

I had a Campbell Hausfeld pencil type, and it was around 46.

I've been playing around with these for over 6 months.
I use the one in the last picture, coz it was more $$$ :shock:
These were all bought this year. Any ideas ? Digital maybe?

:twisted:

·
Registered
4,157 Posts
You have an issue. I have to suspect the first gage is bad. 10 PSI is just too much difference to ignor. Nevertheless, you don't have enough data to draw a statistical conclusion. The three other gages may be showing normal variation based on a 43lb mean.

6 PSI is enough of a difference to be concerned.

I have two gages; a pencil type attached to the compressor (Harbor Freight el cheepo) and an Accu-Gage digital (about $13 from Amazon). They read about 2 PSI different from each other with the digital being the most repeatable.

Digital gages are not more accurate, but they have no moving parts and are infinately more repeatable. Give me repeatable over accurate any day. That way you will at least know your readings are consistant and you will always be able to set your tires to the same pressure. The variation in the mechanical gages makes them less repeatable so, you never are really sure what your reading is.

I know this was vague, but I hope it helps a little.

·
Registered
5,259 Posts
I use gauge #3. It matches the reading from my Smartire.

If you check a dozen tire gauges against one another, you will most likely get as many different readings. I have found the dial type to be more consistant than the traditional pocket gauges.
No opinion on digital. I havn't used any of them.

·
Registered
4,013 Posts
I have used both and I prefer digital. Much more accurate.

JMHO

·
Registered
19,055 Posts
Sorry to hijack-but I cant seem to find the accuguage website
My accu gauge crapped out after a month
and I heard they are guaranteed for life

·