GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts
W

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I see there's remote starters for sale for cages.
Not ever installed one on a cage, why wouldn't they work on Goldwings if left parked in neutral?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,628 Posts
I suppose that if you tracked down the right wires, you could do it. Didn't Lamont put one on his Boss? I thought he had a video on here about it.

BTW, one of the starter wires hooks up to the heater. You could hook that wire up to your seat/grip heater and be ready to ride in cold weather.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,082 Posts
My '05 came with one, didn't yours, but maybe that was just the 30th anniversary addition. Do a search and you can probably find the instructions to activate it. You use the panic button on the remote keyless entry.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19,060 Posts
WHite Gold only the 30th Anniv 2005s come with the remote start

mine works fine

but my coffee maker is dripping out all over the adjustable seat
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
503 Posts
Mine works just fine after carefully following the instructions.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
442 Posts
I bought one for my sons truck and put it on because he has to park it outside and he can start it in the morning and get the frost off the windows before he goes to work. Not sure why you would ever want one on a Goldwing but I guess it could be done.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,082 Posts
Jeff in Ferndale WA said:
laen said:
WHite Gold only the 30th Anniv 2005s come with the remote start
not true...the instructions have been posted for ALL 1800s....

don't have time to do a search...
Is it just the White ones or is it all colors? Mine is white. It is great for warming up on those cool mornings so you don't have to worry about the choke, just push the choke in and ride off. :roll: :lol:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,033 Posts
I think it's pretty common knowledge now days
that Honda built the remote start feature into all the GL1800s.
What isn't so well known, however, is the reason Honda decided
to not publish that this feature is available.
It seems that the Remote start feature works both ways.
Once enabled, it can be used to "start" the bike
and it can be used to "Shut the bike down".
This in itself was not a problem, but, it seems that when the feature
is enabled on any color 1800, it then works on all the bikes of that color.

Knowing the competitive nature of GL1800 riders,
Honda quickly determined that some riders would
utilize this feature to shut off other 1800's that were,
so to speak, "leaving them in the dust" in an effort to
avoid the embarrassment of being last to arrive at the next stop.

I have hesitated to divulge this sensitive information,
as once it becomes well known among the 1800 crowd,
there will be no acceptable option other than for everyone to disable the
remote start (stop) feature to prevent inadvertent shutting down
of their rides at inopportune times.


This has been a public announcement of information concerning potential safety issues
arising from inappropriate use of possible non-published functions of the GL1800.
The provider of this information disavows any knowledge as to the accuracy of these rumors
and specifically with regards to the tapeworm flattening out and going down the scronchy tube.
The provider further emphatically denies that any of this sensitive information was obtained
from hallucinations while under the influence of smoking dried out warty dill pickles.

No Harley Davidson's were harmed in obtaining this information.
DC
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,628 Posts
I forgot to mention that I had to disable mine. It was affecting my odometer and fuel gauge; I figure that it must've been starting on its' own during the night and using up all my gas. I'd fill the tank, then ride to work and back the next day (25 miles one way), then park it in the garage. The next morning, I'd get on it, and the odo would have over 200 miles on it, and the fuel gauge would read empty.

Now, I know that sometimes it would take longer to get home from work than it does to go there, but I thought it was because I was tired and it just seemed to take longer?

:shock:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,057 Posts
wasn't this discussed either last winter or the winter before? I thought I heard it comes on all GL1800's, just need to program the right sequence in the remote fob.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19,060 Posts
White Gold said:
[quote="Jeff in Ferndale WA":rzlxveai]
laen said:
WHite Gold only the 30th Anniv 2005s come with the remote start
not true...the instructions have been posted for ALL 1800s....

don't have time to do a search...
Is it just the White ones or is it all colors? Mine is white. It is great for warming up on those cool mornings so you don't have to worry about the choke, just push the choke in and ride off. :roll: :lol:[/quote:rzlxveai]

MINE WORKS FINE. I LOST THE INSTRUCTIONS. PLEASE POST INSTRUCTIONS FOR THOSE THAT HAVENT PROGRAMMED THEIRS YET.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
694 Posts
1. Turn the ignition switch on - between one and four seconds
and press the trunk "Pop-Up" button on the transmitter while
aiming the transmitter at the trunk. Between one and four seconds
turn the ignition switch off. Note: keep the timing between one and
four seconds, too fast or too slow will cause the control unit to
lose the stored codes.

2. Between one and four seconds, turn the ignition switch on. Between
one and four seconds, press the trunk " Pop-Up " button on the transmitter
while aiming the transmitter at the trunk. Between one and four seconds
turn the ignition switch off.

3. Between one and four seconds, turn the ignition switch on. Between one
and four seconds, press the trunk " Pop-Up " button on the original transmitter
while aiming the transmitter at the trunk. Between one and four seconds
turn the ignition switch off.

4. Between one and four seconds, turn the ignition switch on. Between one
and four seconds, press the trunk " Pop-Up " button on the original transmitter
while aiming the transmitter at the trunk. Leave the ignition switch on.

5. Within 15 seconds, aim the transmitter (up to three) whose codes you want
to store at the trunk and press the " Pop-Up " button once on each transmitter.

6. Between one and four seconds, turn the ignition switch off.
7. Confirm proper operation with the new code(s).

ORIGINALLY POSTED BY.....NOT ME

Retired LEO/Motor Officer
2003 Candy Red GL1800A
1996 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500D - 2002 HD Dyna Superglide
1996 Nissan Fairlady Twin Turbo 300Z
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,082 Posts
AUSTENNN said:
1. Turn the ignition switch on - between one and four seconds
and press the trunk "Pop-Up" button on the transmitter while
aiming the transmitter at the trunk. Between one and four seconds
turn the ignition switch off. Note: keep the timing between one and
four seconds, too fast or too slow will cause the control unit to
lose the stored codes.

2. Between one and four seconds, turn the ignition switch on. Between
one and four seconds, press the trunk " Pop-Up " button on the transmitter
while aiming the transmitter at the trunk. Between one and four seconds
turn the ignition switch off.

3. Between one and four seconds, turn the ignition switch on. Between one
and four seconds, press the trunk " Pop-Up " button on the original transmitter
while aiming the transmitter at the trunk. Between one and four seconds
turn the ignition switch off.

4. Between one and four seconds, turn the ignition switch on. Between one
and four seconds, press the trunk " Pop-Up " button on the original transmitter
while aiming the transmitter at the trunk. Leave the ignition switch on.

5. Within 15 seconds, aim the transmitter (up to three) whose codes you want
to store at the trunk and press the " Pop-Up " button once on each transmitter.

6. Between one and four seconds, turn the ignition switch off.
7. Confirm proper operation with the new code(s).

ORIGINALLY POSTED BY.....NOT ME

Retired LEO/Motor Officer
2003 Candy Red GL1800A
1996 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500D - 2002 HD Dyna Superglide
1996 Nissan Fairlady Twin Turbo 300Z
I really thought it was the horn button on the remote. I can't find the instructions but I thought I used the horn or what some call the panic button.Am I wrong. :?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,154 Posts
I really thought it was the horn button on the remote. I can't find the instructions but I thought I used the horn or what some call the panic button.Am I wrong
You are right! :clap2:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,528 Posts
laen said:
WHite Gold only the 30th Anniv 2005s come with the remote start

mine works fine

but my coffee maker is dripping out all over the adjustable seat
Sorry about your mistake, but my 02 has it. :wink:

Ross
 
1 - 20 of 23 Posts
Top