GL1800Riders Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
676 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am candidate for knee job. Would like to hear from others with knee replacement info. Does this automatically relegate me to a sidecar or trike? Any chance of still handling a Goldwing. I am 63 and have been riding since 1970. Thanks for any info.

·
Registered
2 Posts
knee replacement

I had my knee replaced almost three years ago. Soon as I stopped going to physical therapy I started riding again. Work hard to rehab the knee and you will be better than before surgery. :rw1:

·
Registered
324 Posts
I haven't had knee surgery, but have arthritis in both knees,hips and shoulders, or so Dr. says. They do hurt a lot. If I find the money, am going to trike mine. I love the looks of trikes anyway. Have been getting prices. Hope to get it done this spring. Harry

·
Registered
53 Posts
There is nothing to prevent you from doing what you did before TKR. The key is to work hard through the PT and keep it up forever to maintain full knee movement. If your knees have degenerated to the point of limiting normal activities than you will be glad you had the replacement but I would recommend you give up trying to run in marathons.

G

·
Knee replacement

Ditto working hard with your therapy. Had mine done 7 yrs ago. Was 40 at the time. Met a much older guy that ended up with better bending results than I did, but I've been riding ever since! You'll be glad you had it done.

·
Registered
167 Posts
This is really wild as I'm scheduled to have my right knee replaced the 12th of next month & am now in theropy for the left. You could not have asked at a better time even though giving up riding the stock bike had never crossed my mind ( such as it is ).

Ride Safe, Larry :D

·
Registered
676 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·