GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6,891 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm in the process of establishing a dealer agreement to sell and install the Autocom system. They have a 2-unit initial order requirement and I've only got a need for one unit right now.

If anyone is interested in this system, I'll make you a good deal on the initial order... 8)

You can find more information on their equipment at their websitehttp://www.autocomamerica.com/index.asp, and you can contact me if you need any details.

·
Vendor
21,873 Posts
Autocom

FYI, I have been using the Autocom for about 7 or 8 years now. I wrote a couple reviews of the old Pro3000 and the newer ProM1 several years back.

http://www.concours.org/sc/ACeval.html

http://www.concours.org/sc/ProM1.html

I also have had the Autocom ProM1 installed on the wing for about the last 35K miles or so. There are some pluses and minuses to using it on the Wing. One big plus is that it gets rid of all the wind noise and microphonics that the stock intercom is subjected to. It also integrates in with the existing stereo on the bike, you can just turn the wings intercom off and use all the other functions as normal (except CB). One down side is that you have to remove the existing headset connectors on the bike and replace them with the Autocoms unit. You also have to find a place to put the unit and deal with the wiring aspect (under the seat or in a left rear passanger pocket). The helmet speakers are also a bit hard to get aligned properly (I replaced mine with $7 LabTech speakers). The unit has it's own CB/FRS interface cord, so you can't use it with the stock CB. I use FRS anyway and it works EXTREMLY well that way.