GL1800Riders Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
301 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I just read and posted in the thread "And so it begins.." and it got me thinking about some of the dumber things I've done that should have led to my demise.

Young roosters like to crow about their superior riding skills, extensive experience, and their courage (think a certain male body part) when riding their bikes. When I hear this foolishness I find myself thinking of the unfortunate EMS and police who will be cleaning up the mess he leaves behind one day.

One particularly dumb stunt I committed has haunted me to this day. I should be dead. I've decided to share because I'm one of those people who will pass an accident scene and immediately think to myself, if not say outright, "how the hell did he/she manage to do that ?" after all, I'm a superior driver (cough) and only a dumbass could get themselves into THAT situation.

What follows is the night that I was a dumbass. no two ways about it. There may be others but this one still haunts me.

I was heading home from an all day ride and I was unfortunately running late and it was now dusk when visibility was beginning to diminish. I'd opted to take some two lane country back roads home, thinking there'd be less traffic and a more enjoyable ride. I was admittedly tired and I still had at least an hour before arriving home.

I came up to a "T" intersection where I could only turn left or right. For me it would be a left turn, but the view to the right was limited as the road curved away from where I was sitting at a stop sign, waiting for my chance to go.