GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
On my 2008 I currently have the Kuryakyn armrest which are OK I guess, only I get tired of having to push them aside and back everytime I get into the trunk.
Now the Rivco, seems like they would be better.
Guess I would either leave the chrome mounting brackets on the side of the trunk or order new housings to replace the drilled pieces.
Kinda expensive but are the Rivco's worth it? Anybody had experience with both?

·
Registered
1,182 Posts
It's all personal preference, but having the Kury armrests installed was the biggest mistake I've made so far with the Wing. I removed them. My wife prefers to rest her arms on the speakers, or not at all. The armrests were just a nuisance, and did not look good at all, IMHO. YMMV.

·
Registered
1,291 Posts
As a general observation, I have found that the Rivco stuff is far superior to Kury, both in materials and quality of chrome.

I have no experience with any armrests, since I offered them to Goldilocks, and she didn't want them. But, I have had to work on bikes with the Kury rests, and they were a pain in the p-toootie. You can't open the trunk unless you swing the armrests out. You have to drill holes in your pockets to mount them, and if you don't have a CB antenna, I think you have to drill that side of your trunk.

Kury chrome has a reputation for not being of the best quality, and they seem to use potmetal for a lot of things.

But, since you have a set, you probably already knew that.

Rivco products are usually a little more expensive, but you get what you pay for, I think. Everything I have seen form Rivco has been well constructed from quality (usually aluminum, but thick pieces, or steel) materials, and the chrome has been durable.
And the design on their armrests seems pretty smart.

JMHO
=Dave=
GWBBA #9
rocketmoto.com

·
Registered
396 Posts
Kury