GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

Toplessartist here.
Just picked up my first Goldwing! It's a beautiful '03 with 54k, cupped rear tire, and a tiny scuff on the mirror housing.

I have been riding since 1975, when dad bought me my first bike (Honda XR75) and thru the years I have owned or ridden just about everything that has caught my eye, except for a couple of the Ducatis... seems you have to be either royalty or have a handful of exact change for them to let you test ride one. Here, my dear new friends, is the sad part of my story: A couple years ago I bounded youthfully out to my mailbox and found... sigh... a "Welcome Package from AARP! I was floored, bewildered! I read the label repeatedly to see if it had been delivered to the wrong house. I have old neighbors, it must be for them! I'm still 21 (at heart), no more than 30 tops when it comes to looks, and a sagely 45 when it comes to wisdom. Yet here it was, proof that I had reached the age of compression socks with sandals and some hard-to-pronounce daily pill that may or may not have a long list of side effects! Had they heard me complain about my knees after a four hour ride on my FJR1300? Could they smell the IcyHot on my lower back? Was it really time to get a Goldwing?