GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to check and see if what is happening for me is common or unusual. I have 3.6K on my bike since August and since new it has had a little quirk. I have an XM subscription and listen to that exclusively. Not always, but sometimes, after I shut the bike off, when I turn it back on the audio comes back on on FM. I have to manually change it back to XM. It's not a big deal but merely an annoyance. If it did it every time, I would think is part of the design but the fact that it's intermittent tells me that it's not. I just got the bike back from a month in the shop for a warranty replacement of the LH handlebar pod for a different issue and it was fine the first dozen or so times I started it and I was hoping that had cured my ghost but then, after a gas stop, it did it again. Is anyone else seeing this?

·
Registered
336 Posts
There have been many reports of XM switching to FM or AM by itself while riding but I haven't heard about it happening at startup. Mine switches to FM occasionally.

Marc

·
Registered
1,159 Posts
Mine switches back to FM after turning bike off. Maybe every other week it will switch from XM to FM/AM while riding. Hopefully the January update will fix it.

·
Registered
581 Posts
Happens to mine. I'll turn it off with XM still on and when I start it the next time, it will come on at one of the other sources - sometimes AM, sometimes FM, sometimes Aux. On occasion when riding the radio will switch off XM to AM though this happens less often these days. It's a minor annoyance and certainly at a level below that of the shortcomings of the current GPS (In my opinion).

·
Registered
794 Posts
I believe the reason for the switching is that, for what ever reason the receiver looses it signal for a short time & switch to where there is a signal. Mine does it when I remove my flash drive that has the music I always listen to. :serious: :surprise:

·
Registered