GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking to replace my original battery in my 04 Wing, it is showing on the testing equipment as fair, planning some long trips with a trailer when the snow finaly leaves!
Any help is great, we are in the Niagara area of Canada.

·
Registered
5,923 Posts
Hal sells the Yuasa OEM battery in the newer higher amp rated model. This battery is the same that comes with the new GWs. If yours lasted 5 yrs then I would go with another of the same.

·
Registered
1,787 Posts
I've been selling motorcycle batteries for 36 years and I can guarantee you that you will not save any money by buying anything but a Yuasa battery. That 30-50 bucks you save by buying a cheap China or Taiwan battery will not pay off in the long run.

G

·
OEM Yuasa. Buy from Hal at HDL. Add a couple other items to get over $100 order value and you get free shipping. Can't beat the deal, and the Yuasa can't be beat either.

Ride safe

·
Registered
561 Posts
I bought a battery locally a couple years back from Wally world. Lasted almost one year. I then bought a expensive glass mat one one line. It lasted about 1 1/2 years. Last fall I bought the OEM Yuasa and will not try anything else.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Same story here with a GL1500. I tried a cheap battery. Never again. After less than a year I got a Yuasa glass mat sealed battery and it was awesome. When I have to replace the GL1800 battery I am going to get another Yuasa sealed battery. This is definately something NOT to go cheap on.

BTW, who is Hal and what is HDL? Thanks.

·
Registered
8,137 Posts
OEM for me also.

·
Registered
8,137 Posts
Same story here with a GL1500. I tried a cheap battery. Never again. After less than a year I got a Yuasa glass mat sealed battery and it was awesome. When I have to replace the GL1800 battery I am going to get another Yuasa sealed battery. This is definately something NOT to go cheap on.