GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
376 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, the amount of information I learned out of a Thread on Oil, now I need to learn about plugs.
As you all know by now, I am new to Wings. I have never met smarter people than all my new Friends, that share my passion.........Goldwings.
I am going to change my plugs and have heard a lot about the NGK Iridium 3764 1X.
Is this a good plug?
Are there others?
Should I stay with Honda?

These are 1st grade questions, but I feel like a 1st grader sometimes.
Thanks so much guys and gals.
Msgt

·
Registered
5,923 Posts
I installed them at the first plug change a while back. They come already gaped and suppose to last 4 times as long as regular plugs, but cost 4 times as much.

·
Registered
16,976 Posts
Here is my take on it. Honda gives two excellent choices for brand. Both are easy to find and relatively inexpensive. Both work as well as anything you can get for the specified service life, by which time either will have some significant gap errosion and "rounding" of the electrode/anode edges. The spark plugs should likely be checked for gap and to "read" the combustion/ignition characteristics at the specified service intervals even if the plugs were the type that last much longer than OE. Thus, with the labor and effort to check the plugs combined with to the low cost of replacing the plugs with specified OE types; one would be money ahead to just use new OE type plugs every time to get crisp new edges and new crush gaskets. DO check the gaps on new plugs. DO NOT remove or install plugs in a warm aluminum head -- let it cool to room temp. I have found the Denso plugs on sale at AutoZone as low as 99 cents each. But, if teh special split and super duper plugs tickle your fancy; go for it.

prs

·
Love The DCT
12,018 Posts
Well, the amount of information I learned out of a Thread on Oil, now I need to learn about plugs.