GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2,433 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yes, I'm being lazy, and yes, I know it can vary, especially with our crazy weather these last couple of years, but I'd like to know what those who have experience know about the best time of year to ride the Beartooth Hwy. I'm more concerned with road conditions than than I am with temperatures.

From when to when is it usually open? Are there worthwhile views that might suggest going later, after the snow banks have melted, etc.?

TIA

·
Registered
1,530 Posts
I'm not an expert on it by any means, I've been over it three times, all as it happens in early September.
The first time I ran into snow about a half mile before the summit and it ended about a half mile beyond the summit.
The second time its was cool, had rained, then one day later it snowed and they closed it.
The third time (last year) it was shirt sleeve weather.
I think its just a wildly unpredictable place but others will have more varied experience. I can tell you it was worth the trip though.

·
Registered
3,537 Posts
We did it in the end of July.
The weather was perfect.
Still Ice at the highest elevations, but the roads were clear and dry.

·
Registered
1,924 Posts
The week AFTER labor day is great. The summer traffic is largely gone, but it is still pretty much summer.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Beartooth

The best time is right now. I was up there Saturday, July 2. There is still snow but the highway is clear and in good shape. There is still construction around Beartooth Lake with possible 30 minute delays during the week. Just remember conditions at that elevation change rapidly. Also if you are not famaliar with the road take it easy. Even in the best weather conditions there is always a chance of rocks or other debris on the highway. Some areas have limited visibility. There is a lot of traffic. The ski school is open and lots of people are skiing other popular areas accessible from the highway.