GL1800Riders Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
292 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
He looked at my front tire and said.... "man is that a cupped up mess!!"...who ever balanced that tire did a crap job!!

I looked at him and smiled and said..... They did it here at your shop.

He said NO WAY!!!!! my machine is one of the best balancing machines that money can buy. There is no way that tire was balanced here.
I said .....AH I brought it in brand new last August along with a new rear tire. Your young fellow changed em and balanced em.

He said...... I have been selling metz for over 20 years and I have NEVER heard of one wobbling unless it was balanced wrong.

I am in the process of collecting parts to check tire balance for myself.
No more BSing around with every hot head mr. perfection out there.

·
Registered
4,863 Posts
dw said:
He said...... I have been selling metz for over 20 years and I have NEVER heard of one wobbling unless it was balanced wrong.
Hmm 20 years sounds impressive, but that doesn't mean how many tires he has worked on during that time. If he's never heard of a Metzeler wobbling on a GL1800 (and still being balanced correctly) he hasn't done too many. Not that uncommon. Mine was a bad rear Metzeler and I finally took it off because it felt unsafe at any speed (and yes, the hands were on the handlebars all the time).

DaleC

·
Registered
17,388 Posts
I think the gentleman is under a false impresson regarding the relationship of cupping or scalloping of tires and balance. Tires that are significantly out of balance may well show wear patterns related to that issue. My auto tire center has or used to have a chart of wear patterns and related causes, but on motorcycles, the wear patterns that develop may well be related more closely to hard braking, under inflation, and weight distribution/tracking issues. BUt, then again he is the pro.....

prs

·
Registered
292 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks guys,