GL1800Riders Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
2,268 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know the book says DOT 4 but are their any special requirements for brake fluid for the wing other than DOT 4. Slides on flame suit, what is the best brand to get?

Also, been looking for the mighty vac to change out the fluid. All the local stores have the one that does not create the vaccum. Where is the best place to find one? I went to the online site and they were about double what people say they pay for them.

Any tips and tricks when changing out the fluid?

Thanks 8)

G

·
Scuse me. I have been a salesman for 35 years and have probably driven over a million miles, and I have NEVER changed the brake fluid in a car, nor is it recommended that I know of. Why is a bike any different? It is a closed hydraulic system. How can the fluid get dirty or wear out? Unless you somehow deliberately introduce dirt or contamination into the system, or unless you are racing and get the brake cylinders so hot they boil the fluid, I don't know why you would ever need to change it.

I know that Honda recommends changing the brake fluid every 12K miles, but I still don't understand why. Maybe condensation in the resevoir? If so, why isn't a problem in automobiles?

I have read reports on this Board from guys who have pulled the covers on their brake or clutch resevoirs and found the fluid like mud. How in the H...can that happen?

I think this a case of fixing something that ain't broke.

I don't get it. :? What am I missing here?

·
Registered
1,580 Posts
Steve,