GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I'm brand new to this bike and this forum, thanks for the great resources for a new owner!

I just picked up a new 2020 Gold Wing a few days ago, and so far I love it, except for one thing.

After I added GrabOn grip covers to the grips (which I've done on most of the over 30 bikes i've owned), the bike would frequently DIE when slowing to a stop from 40+ MPH. The first time I thought it was a fluke, but then it happened again 4 more times so i knew something was wrong, and since it hadn't happened before i put on the grip covers I knew it was related to them.

I thought maybe it was due to the clutch microswitches not engaging when the clutch lever was pulled all the way in (due to the increased diameter with the grip covers). There is one clutch switch that clicks when you first move the lever, and another one when you get the lever close to the grip. So I moved the clutch lever out one notch using the adjustment wheel. It had been on 5 (closest) because I hate the way-out engagement point of hydraulic clutches. The feel of this clutch is terrible in my opinion!

Changing this seemed to help, as it didn't happen again for many miles, but then it did, it died on me again coming to a stop with the clutch lever pulled in. So I thought maybe I should try position 3 instead of 4. So far I haven't had it die again, but it's only been a day.

My question is: has anyone else experienced this, using grip covers or aftermarket grips or anything like that? I'm thinking that if it is the grip diameter then it would have happened to someone else by now.