GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
687 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

I am a newbie at this trailer hitch stuff so I have been trying to read up a lot here and I think I have narrowed it down to the Bushtec V2 or a Rivco.

What does Bushtec mean (see below) when they talk about the Bushtec Hitch Pin & Stainless steel lock ?

V.2 Standard Package - Vertical Receiver Hitch package with main supports, center section, struts, graded hardware, a Chrome Hitch head with EITHER a Bushtec Hitch Pin and Stainless Steel Lock OR 1 7/8 inch Stainless Steel ball, Plug-N-Play Electronic Relay Isolator Package, Bushtec Contoured Mudflap and mounting hardware & Receiver Lock.

Next, both packages come with the relay-isolator so what else do I need to get this thing functional?

What kind of tongue drop, 0, 3", or 6" is necessary? I guess this is based on how tall your trailer sets, correct?

·
Registered
2,530 Posts
Yes...what AlabamaWing said

Both hitches are good products...both mount on the frame of the motorcycle rather than the less sturdy saddlebag framework

Some like the Rivco better because it is a few pounds lighter(aluminium).....however I believe any installation of the Rivco requires a hole to be cut in the rear fender which some folks prefer not to do
Some prefer the Bushtec in particular for the "heim" joint coupling (the hitch pin and lock that you asked about)...this coupler is unique to the Bushtec trailers....the Bushtec hitch is available with the standard ball joint as well

Again...both are good products and I believe it is a matter of personal preference

·
Registered
160 Posts
Bushtec and wiring