GL1800Riders Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
190 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the GL1800, and I searched the archives trying to find an answer to my problem.

I have no issues getting the bike on the center stand, but have a hard time getting it off the stand. :(

On other bikes I have owned I have simply got on the bike and rolled it off the center stand. The Wing is both heavy and high and I end up rocking it back and forth to get it off, and even that is pretty darn hard.

Any sugestions?

·
Registered
364 Posts
Rocking it back and forth is the way I do it, and it will gently set down, I'm a little skinney guy and have no problem getting it off the stand.....now getting it on the stand is another story :D

·
Registered
561 Posts
Just keep practicing. I'm 160 pounds and have gotten it down to an art of one sway forward and it rolls off.

·
Registered
596 Posts
Silly question, probably, but it's not facing uphill where you park is it?

I'm about 175 pounds, and I can just straddle the bike, pull back on the bars to stretch the forks a little, then just push forward as it rebounds. It rolls right off with no problem.

·
Registered
190 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks Guys, I will keep practicing till I get it. I thought a possibility might be to try getting it off the stand without seating on it, something that I had not dared to try.

Mr. Ed, no fear there I always practice on level ground before graduating to more serious and challenging venues. :)

·
Registered
174 Posts
areg said:
I have no issues getting the bike on the center stand, but have a hard time getting it off the stand. :(
I am 5-6 and 150 and I can get it on the stand just fine.

With it up there, I can't touch the ground without sliding right up to the gas cap and only then with tippy toes.

The way I get it off the stand is to put the side stand down.

Grab the handlebar and the back handgrip while facing across the bike.

I put my left foot on the side stand.