GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

I'm brand new to the Goldwing world. If I knew how nice these bikes were, I would have bought one along time ago. I moved up from a vtx 1800.
I have a couple of questions.

How do you get the bike on its center stand?

I have a larin m/c jack will this work on the Goldwind? The crank case looks as if is lower than the frame. If it works where is the best place it on the bike?

One last question I would like to replace the plastic radiator grills. Do the cowel pieces come off the side fairing that cover the grills or does the faring need to be removed.

Thanks in advance Jim haas

·
Registered
82 Posts
Putting bike on center stand

Hi,
It's pretty easy putting the bike on the center stand
1. In neutral
2. Stand on left side (side kick stand side)
3. Left hand on grip, place rightfoot on center stand and push down until it hits floor. Place right hand on passanger hand rail.
4. With center stand on floor, push bike up so the other side of center stand hits floor. Now your bike is up straight. I would recommend having someone on the other side until you get used to doing this, it will only take you a few times and you will be comfortable doing it.
5. Now all in one move, like a dance step, push down on center stand, pull up on passanger hand rail, it should rock right back on the center stand for you.

Hope that helps
Spike

·
Registered
2,267 Posts