GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie who likes to do simple maintenence myself. My wing has 56 miles on it(bought it just before the winter set in) and have read the owners manuel on changing oil. Any tips I should know about?

Thanks for your help

·
Registered
60 Posts
It's simple. Clean stuff before you take it off. Watch for the washer
on the drain plug, I reuse them until they leak. Get a torque wrench,
Sears has cheap reliable ones. Oil filter wrench is the hardest tool
to find. I like the ones that slip on and get tighter, tried the ones
that go over the end of the filter, kept slipping off.

Do it by the book, it's easy.

Don't ask about what kind of oil :)

·
Registered
60 Posts
Forgot, write it up in the manual. Helps when if you sell the bike
and tell people you did the changes if there is a written record.

·
Registered
4,863 Posts
germ97702 - save yourself a little grief and spend $10.16 at Honda Direct Line and get the Big Bike Parts Oil Filter wrench, it's perfect for an easy removal of the filter.
http://www.hondadirectlineusa.com/stores/byProduct.asp?prd=Tools&str=4&ID=30028020

Also at the same time order a half dozen or so OEM oil filters from the same place. Both of these have free shipping (or when your order is over $100. its's all free too when some items you buy have a shipping charge).

DaleC

·
Registered
4,863 Posts
Bulldog - it was fresh in my mind how nice it was because I changed my oil and filter this afternoon. You must not have done it today, therefore it was not....

Right tool for the right job, only way to go!!

DaleC

·
Registered
1,100 Posts
I always use a torque wrench. I have a cheap one from Sears. To torque the oil filter you need a cup style spanner. Wal-Mart sells one that will work if you shim it with a paper towel. This is the one with a metal drive hole, size "B". Kmart sells an all metal spanner by Penske. I haven't tried it but plan to.