GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
756 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been changing oil on Cars and Motorcycles for over 40 years.
I have never worn gloves when changing oil.
Today, I went to change the oil in my bike and I have a couple of cracks on my fingers.
You know when your hands dry out they start cracking.
I didn't want to get any oil contamination so I knew my wife had gloves around the house somewhere.
So I called her at work and she told me where they were and I used them.
After I was done with the oil change, with oil getting all over the gloves several times, I removed the gloves and my hands were so soft and smelled so nice, I could not believe it. I will have to find out what brand they are and keep a box in the garage.
Why haven't I been using gloves all along?
Besides oil being a health hazard these days, it sure saves time when cleaning up and coming in the house.

·
Registered
588 Posts
Nitrile are the best for almost universal use again most solvents while latex are the worst, and can cause allergies. Also, if you only barely use a pair (not contaminated or sweaty inside, for example), blow into them from the palm side toward your fingers and they'll slightly inflate so you can easily remove them and get more wear out of one or both. They're not expensive but why waste 'em, right? I like how after a dirty job I don't have to live with black grease under my fingernails and cuticle for 7-10 days.

·
Registered
564 Posts
the type used in health care, will dissolve in oil.

only buy Nitrile, and HF has the lowest price

I use the when working anything mechanical, at 78, my skin peels like an onion, and cries just as hard.

·
Registered
77 Posts
We buy a couple boxes of each thickness at Harbor Freight in the Large & Extra Large sizes. People that come over to work on their rigs in our garage always comment on why didn't they think of that. Works good while greasing your rigs too.

·
Registered
363 Posts