GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got a Tulsa windshield and wanted to find out what others use
for a cleaner and what type of cloth rag is used to keep from scratching it.
Thanks.

·
Registered
90 Posts
Windshield Cleaner

I use Cycle Care formula 33 and an old tee-shirt. I use it on the entire bike except for the tires and wheels. Wipe in a straight up and down or side to side manner vs circles. I've been using it for about 3 years with no signs of scratching or clouding. SLIDE

·
Registered
317 Posts
Go to the Tulsa website and look at the instructions for cleaning. I have one on the 1800 and the Valkyrie Interstate. Still clean up like new using their instructions and the 210 of course.

·
Registered
1,096 Posts
I highly recommend you use Tulsa's cleaning method and recommended materials, they put a lot of work into finding the best method, and it works, even if you don't have a Tulsa windshield.

How to clean and protect your windshield

http://www.tulsaenterprises.com/hints.html

·
Registered
9,099 Posts
Tulsa did a bunch of research on this. I use their methods and their 210, and at three years my stock windscreen has only two rock pits in the lower part (both of which gave me one heck of an adrenalin rush while being put there). No cloudiness, no swirl scratch marks.

Got my stuff from Tulsa, including the directions.

·
Registered
2,305 Posts
I've had my Tulsa windshield for two summers and it's still in pefect condition as I follow Tulsa's cleaning recommendations to the tee.
Carrying some damp terry towels with you in in a ziplock baggie (as well as some 210) works great when on the road.

I'm still amazed at the optical clarity of this windshield even after two riding seasons. :shock:

·
Registered
4,439 Posts
Allen showed me what to do !!!