GL1800Riders Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone out there have a set of Dauntless trailer hitch installation instructions I could "borrow"? Maybe scan and email a copy to me? I bought one of the hitches off eBay, sans instructions .... thanks in advance.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Tried the web site

Yea, I tried looking all over the Dauntless web site, but could not find where they posted the installation instructions -- did I miss something?:shrug:

·
Registered
602 Posts
How "Strong" would you rate the Dauntless, as-compared to the Bushtec -or- Rivco ??????

I've been considering getting a packit-rak for a rear carrier &/or flag mount & don't think I'd be interested in a trailer. I'm fairly new to wings & hadn't heard of the Dauntless...... The install looks pretty stinkin simple !

·
Registered
280 Posts
I can't speak for the other brands, but the Dauntless hitch I have seems to be rock solid. I made my own Pak-it Rak and use a cooler on it for weekend trips and have had no problems. I have a home built trailer that has been towed for about 5000 miles with it. While that doesn't seem like much, I recently put a new rear tire on my bike and went to remove the center section of the hitch and everything was still tight as new.

·
Registered
280 Posts
Jeff, they are different. I looked at your pic and the Dauntless hitch reciever plate is larger and there seems to be more mounting hardware. Also the AddOn has a max hitch weight of 30lbs and the Dauntless is 50lbs. They seem to mount the same way, but with different materials.

·
Registered
602 Posts
I rec'd my Dauntless Hitch via UPS while ago - hope to tackle the install tomorrow while the wx-man calls for more rain & cold to move back in. Any tips/suggestions re; the install would be appreciated !

Thanks - Dave / Silver '09 Wing / Missouri

·
Registered
1,938 Posts