GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
9,099 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First, I am a total novice at doing audio work, and understand even less about satalite radios (including spelling it). However, I was looking at the Delphi Rhody to put on the bike. It has a card that fits into a cassette player and is wired to the receiver unit. Question is, will the aux plug that comes with the bike in the left pocket fit into the reciever, and will that work to get the sound into the on-board intercom system, using the AUX button on the console? Second question is, will the antenna work just on top of the dash behind the windshield?

Anybody tried one of these units, and whats the opinions?

Thanks, Harry

·
Registered
6,891 Posts
Hi Harry,

I haven't personally worked with this unit, but I know that many others have and will probably chime in. The main issue that I've heard with regards to this radio is the possibility of it interferring with the satellite reception of a GPS, if you have one.

I have the SkyFi unit and have had no problems with it. You can use the audio out of the unit and connect it directly into the Aux. input on the bike (usually through a ground loop isolator), or use the FM modulator if you choose. You'll probably have to extend the audio cable, depending on where you mount it.

As far as antenna mounting goes, I mounted mine on top of the front brake reservoir and have had great reception. You can't hardly tell it's there, and the new antenna that comes with the Roady is even smaller...

Let me know if you need help and maybe we could get together (I know you're not afraid of a ride...)

·
Registered
271 Posts
Yes and Yes.

The AUX input works great. You will most likely need a ground loop isolator that plugs in between the AUX and the Roady.