GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,928 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just for your information:

4 days from today, all cell phone numbers are being released to telemarketing companies and you will start to receive sales calls….

YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THESE CALLS……

To prevent this, call the following number from your cell phone: 888-382-1222. It is the National DO NOT CALL list. It will only take a minute of your time.

It blocks your number for five (5) years.

Or you can go on line to www.donotcall.gov and register your phone there.

·
Registered
1,191 Posts
This is just as URBAN LEGEND. Cell phones are not on the telemarketers database.

I am a consultant for a survey company (the one's that do NOT sell you anything but just do surveys) and they ONLY get numbers from the WIRED companies. The wireless numbers are NOT on that list. And YES survey companies CAN call you even if your on the do not call list. Remember they are NOT selling or promoting any products. Most of them however (and this includes my client) do respect the do not call list and have software that updates almost daily that scans their call list to "flag" the numbers and remove them from the survey listings.

·
Registered
1,915 Posts
cell phones

i must have read something different,right on the front page it says you can register your home or mobile (cell) phones,thats good enough for me so i did it.OLE YELLER MBG PA

·
Registered
9,391 Posts
Dive,

Thanks for info. I registered all three of ours.

·
Dangerous Old Lady Biker
5,677 Posts
All my phone numbers are all registered; however, I still get calls...including sales calls on my cell phone... and yes, Snopes does regard this as an Urban Legend...but then I am getting calls!! LOL

·
Registered
135 Posts
Old Urban Legend

Guys, this has been going around for some time. Always saying "In just 4 days" I might add. It is an urban legend. You can read about it here.

http://www.snopes.com/politics/business/cell411.asp