GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Banned
1,766 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
No, not those balls. I'm talking about the ball on the hitch. It would seem to me that a coating of heavy grease would let the hitch swivel a bit easier and make for smoother towing.

Anyone tried it or anything like it?

·
Registered
521 Posts
Just returned from a 2500 mile trip around Lake Superior and I used wax paper. Just fold a piece over 3-4 times and place it on top of the ball before hooking up the trailer. Works great and not as messy as grease. No wear at all on the chrome trailer hitch ball.

·
Registered
2,160 Posts
That's the wife's job...she greases the ballz while I check the oil and tires!:coffee1:

·
Registered
166 Posts
I've been using waxed paper for a couple of years now because I got sick of the mess left by vasoline etc.

I just keep a role of the waxed paper in the trailer.

·
Registered
1,188 Posts
Grease attracts grit which will scratch your balls and leave marks. Sort of like when you drop the jelly side while you are making your PBJ it always lands jelly side down.

·
Registered
1,397 Posts
If you'd grease more often, you wouldn't have rustydust. :joke:

·
Registered
364 Posts
I don't use grease it's just to messy. I like to powder my Balls. :cool:

·
Registered
33 Posts
Wax paper, No mess. Tom :biker:
Have never heard of using Wax paper. Is it as easy as it sounds? Please explain.

·
Banned
1,766 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
Have never heard of using Wax paper. Is it as easy as it sounds? Please explain.