GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the Darkside; I am the proud owner of "Cav Baby", a midnight blue 2009 GL1800. After 17,000 miles, it was past time for new shoes. A couple of friends had already gone over to the Darkside, and they recommended it for my kind of riding (3-500 miles a week, plus American Legion Riders and Patriot Guard Riders missions).

I did my research (thanks, gl1800riders.com!), and decided to go Double Darkside with a Bridgestone Potenza 195/55-R16 on the rear, and a Bridgestone Battlax BT-45 on the front.

A local sportbike shop, which shall remain nameless, put on the new shoes; $100 to mount, balance, and install both tires. The owner said he wanted me to pay cash, so there would be no paper trail for the "dangerous" conversion. I laughed, because I think he really wanted cash so he wouldn't have to give the state its pound of flesh. I was cool with it. The old tires are worn down to almost nothing, but I saved them in case I need an emergency shoe someday.

Cav Baby's maiden run on the Dark Side was most excellent! I took her around the city, laid her over on a couple turns around a roundabout, and let her off the leash for 50 smooth miles- up to the Potawatomi Nation and back. I got used to the difference in handling without any trouble. She still lays over for some good old fashioned peg-scraping on the corners, and holds the road like a dream. Smoothest ride I've had since I bought her. Stopping distance is much shorter than the old Dunlops. I had the biggest s***eating grin on my face as I rode!

When I got back to town, I stopped back in at the shop. The owner gave me a "look" when I walked in, and asked me what was wrong. I told him he'd done a great job, and the bike handled beautifully. Cav Baby was the 11th Dark Side conversion he had done so far. I told him I'd recommend him to anyone.