GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,175 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I finally got my EC led cowl lights..."the most light you can stuff in the cowl":yes1:. I'm looking over the instructions and was wondering if anyone has made a step by step video or photos? I searched in the how to section but couldn't find anything that dealt with step by step install.

I currently have Show Chrome/Hondaline fog lights installed but dealer installed for me so I am a newbie and looking for some tips.

Thanks,
Dan

·
Registered
9,113 Posts
Where the Hondaline lights mount to the bike, the E/C lights mount into the cowl.

The big trick is getting the holes melted into the plastic on the cowl. That's what the 90° tip on the soldering iron is for. Once those are done, then it's just a matter of getting the springs into those holes and hooked into the light mounting brackets.

If you test fit one of the brackets onto the inside of the cowl and attach the springs, you'll see where the holes are supposed to go. You have to get the hole pretty low so there is plenty of tension on the springs to keep the brackets in place.

PM me if you need help. I've done several of these. They're a bit of a PITA, but it's not hard to do. Just take your time and have something to drink handy.

Also, you'll need a towel to sit the cowl on to prevent it from getting scratched while you're installing the lights.

·
Registered
2 Posts
So how bright are these lights? I upgraded the low beams to get better visibility down the road at night and it was certainly a help, but want to add foglights too. The ideal would be to find some lights that will cast a ways down the road and be really bright (without getting into oncoming driver's faces ) Any thoughts on these as comparison to others? I have heard so many mixed reviews on LEDs

·
Registered
124 Posts
Hey fellas,

Thought last night's experience might help out others.