GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a used Aspen camper and have decided to add electric brakes to it. I'm new to trailer towing (started with the biggest I could find didn't I?:lol:) and feel like the loaded weight is going to be an issue for me. I searched on here, but didn't see answers to a couple of questions.

I've been doing some net research and the Tekonsha Prodigy proportional controller seems to be recomended a lot. What do folks on here use?

Some folks mount the controller in a water proof box on the trailer with a power switch on the bike so that the brakes can be disabled if needed. Seems that the controller doesn't care where it's mounted. Just makes the initial setup adjustments a lot harder. I like this idea because that way I can pull it with one of my hot rods and use the brakes without a lot of extra wiring. Anybody see anything wrong with mounting the controller on the trailer?

Any other comments about using brakes are welcomed.

Mike

·
Registered
59 Posts
Once the brakes are set you don't need to adjust the controller unless the weight of the camper changes. The problem with mounting the controller on the trailer is that it needs a power wire run to it. You could mount it in your trunk or bag also. I don't think you will need the brakes pulling it with a street rod.

·
Registered
109 Posts
I installed the Prodigy brake controller with the remote control. Main unit mounts to my Aspen camper and the small handheld remote plugs into the cig. lighter and sits in the glovebox. It is pricy but sure made for a clean and easy install. The unit works great and can be adjusted on the "fly". The boost function is really helpful and has a wide range of brake adjustments. Nice to get a precise adjustment while riding and can change the settings very quickly.
IMO Prodigy is the way to go.

·
Registered
513 Posts