GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm going to install a lead for some Gerbings and I plan to use an electrical accessory power block and I want it on a relay so it's off with the ignition although I plan to wire in an on off switch. I'm a novice on the electrical side so I'd appreciate any advice - i.e. powering the relay so it's off with the ignition - where do I tap in to a power source? It's a 2004 gl1800. Thanks in advance for any suggestions on this.

·
Registered
683 Posts
If I understand you correctly, you want to draw power from the EC power block. I believe it is rated for 30 amps. I would use the accessory terminals on the bikes fuse block instead. Use the power from that connection to trip a relay when you turn the bike on. The relay will draw needed power for the Gerbings directly from the battery. When the bike is off, so are the terminals and the relay.

·
Registered
826 Posts
EC's aux block has a relay. The entire panel is switched. The main fuse is 30 amp. Don't get hung up on this. Just like a 100 amp main in a house panel that may have the potential for a 1000 amp draw. Unlikely you will ever have everything on at max at the same time. I have two Gerbing fuses, 10 amp ea. Grip heaters 10 amp, trailer lights and aux power 20 amp, volt meter 5 amp. Total 55 amps. Never blown a main and I quite frequently run with all of these operating at the same time. Just make sure your wire is rated to the fuse.

·
Registered
1,599 Posts
moby1800 said:
I'm going to install a lead for some Gerbings and I plan to use an electrical accessory power block and I want it on a relay so it's off with the ignition although I plan to wire in an on off switch. I'm a novice on the electrical side so I'd appreciate any advice - i.e. powering the relay so it's off with the ignition - where do I tap in to a power source? It's a 2004 gl1800. Thanks in advance for any suggestions on this.
Moby,