GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm going to install a lead for some Gerbings and I plan to use an electrical accessory power block and I want it on a relay so it's off with the ignition although I plan to wire in an on off switch. I'm a novice on the electrical side so I'd appreciate any advice - i.e. powering the relay so it's off with the ignition - where do I tap in to a power source? It's a 2004 gl1800. Thanks in advance for any suggestions on this.

·
Registered
365 Posts
Had same situation on my 2006.If you look at the top left hand corner of your Wings fuse box,there are 2 screws,positive and negative.Hook up to these and your acces will turn on and off with the key.Good luck.

·
Registered
3,678 Posts
razwrld said:
Had same situation on my 2006.If you look at the top left hand corner of your Wings fuse box,there are 2 screws,positive and negative.Hook up to these and your acces will turn on and off with the key.Good luck.
razwrld,

Just so you know...the connection, that you mentioned, is fused at only 5 amps. I wouldn't try to use Gerbing's at any less than 15 amps...identify the total amps expected to be used by the Gerbing's you plan to hook up...Jacket Liner (6.4 amps), Pants Liner (4.5 amps), Gloves (2.2 amps)...as you can see...it adds up quick...

moby1800 said:
I'm going to install a lead for some Gerbings and I plan to use an electrical accessory power block and I want it on a relay so it's off with the ignition although I plan to wire in an on off switch. I'm a novice on the electrical side so I'd appreciate any advice - i.e. powering the relay so it's off with the ignition - where do I tap in to a power source? It's a 2004 gl1800. Thanks in advance for any suggestions on this.
moby1800,

If I were to do this, I would use the EC "Power Plate" Power Distribution for this and your other accessories...check it out here...

:click: http://www.electricalconnection.com/pow ... bution.htm

·