GL1800Riders Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Do anyone know if you can program in a route on the gps besides just the shortest or qwickest ones, such as side roads only or ones that are more scenic or even curvy mountain roads over long distances?

Wht Lightning

·
Registered
1,292 Posts
You can tell it to stay off the interstates.

You can program your route with the use of vias (waypoints).

Put in a destination, then add vias to make the route swing through that town or highway. Can have up to 10 vias.

If 10 vias isn't enough you could break your route up into segments. I.E. you would have to enter the next segment after you finish the first segment.

You can enter up to 100 favorite places in and later call certain ones up to be used as vias.

I'm new to this and look forward to trying my advice in the spring.

This is how I gather it works from what I've seen (personally) and heard.

It doesn't know scenic, curvey or dangerous areas. It may take you right through NYC and Harlem unless you use 1 or 2 vias to route you away from it.

Take it for what it's worth.

PS. For local use try the shortest route for the most fun. The quickest will use routes you've traveled many times.

·
Registered
1,883 Posts
Don has some good advice on the Nav. One thing that I found out that annoys me is if you chose " shortest " route it will program you via the shortest route but that even includes DIRT roads. I don't know how to disable dirt roads. If somebody does please tell me.

·
Registered
1,292 Posts
For anyone that may not know, you can press in the zoom lever on the left handlebar and see a listing of your full route.

·
Registered
83 Posts