GL1800Riders Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I realize this question opens the flood gate for opinions, however, solid experience is welcome - My 2006 Wing now has 13,500 on the ODO and I have no experience with the selection of Brake Pad choices on the market.

With the issues from wear life and brake dust to pad squeal and wear on the brake rotors, what recommendations do you have? I will purchase OEM Honda Pads if that appears to be the pads of choice...

Appreciate your input... Happy Holidays to all!

JW
Tampa, FL

·
Registered
118 Posts
Any opinions on this, asked before but no one answered. Someone once posted about swapping pads around as the front left if I remember correctly wears so much more than the others do. I have a new set of OEMs and each has a different part # however if you order EBC pads the part # is the same for all 3. By the way I wouldnt use any except the honda oems.
John

·
Registered
1,408 Posts
Johnnyva said:
I have a new set of OEMs and each has a different part # however if you order EBC pads the part # is the same for all 3.
Yep, they are technically the same sized holders. However, the OEM rear is thicker and the fronts come with backing plates to help with the squeal.

My EBC's didn't seem to last as long. I didn't notice any difference in stopping.

·
Registered
4,823 Posts
Johnnyva said:
I was thinking of just swapping the fronts. Any opinions?
I believe the squeak shims are on the outboard pad, therefore a right and left part#.. Not sure about the EBCs.

·
Registered
148 Posts
go with the oem. i replace mine with the galfer pad from direct line and i find they don't stop as well or last as long. they don't even sell them anymore.

·
Registered
7,424 Posts
Honda for rear; they're the thickest.
Galfer is quieter up front and stop a little better than stock. EBC and Emgo are cheap...
Ferodo STOPS the bike but wear fast.
I like SBS the best so far for the front pads.