GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
848 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Had my first big scare since I started riding again three weeks ago. Tonight I was going for a ride around the local area. First night in about two weeks that the temp has come down to something real enjoyable - 70 degrees. I was riding some back roads around Anaheim Hills and then got on the freeway. I had only been on for about 2 mins, going about 70 when I almost hit a large piece of big-rig trucker tire tread that had detached. It was black the same shade as the pavement and I did not see it until I was on top of it. It stood up on end about 15 inches. Missed it by millimeters, my right peg scraped it. It was a whole tire length bunched up. I can only imagine what would have happened it I had hit it dead on. Took awhile to calm down. At first I just wanted to head on home but I continued riding for about another hour reminding myself why I was on the bike. Thanks for reading.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Glad you're okay! While riding last night to Bismarck, went by a lot of those 'Gaters' on the shoulder of the road. Makes me not want to ride at night because not seeing one in time could end up being a tragedy. It's hard enough just seeing them in the daylight! Anyway, I'm glad everything is good! Take care!

·
Registered
6,535 Posts
Yeah... I just ran over one a few weeks ago. Total so far is $4,500 worth of damage to wing and cargo trailer I was pulling with it. Trailer was very messed up... go to trailer overhaul new frame?? Thread for some pictures

Attachments

·
Registered
848 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Wow DJ Fire, I'm glad that you are ok.

·
Registered
6,535 Posts
Yeah... I do not suggest it.

O

·
0 Posts
Retread leftovers